• 91°

Gatton College of Pharmacy honors postgraduates during virtual ceremony

JOHNSON CITY— East Tennessee State University Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy honored its postgraduate pharmacy residents and fellows on Thursday night in a virtual graduation ceremony.
 Speakers included Dr. Brian Noland, ETSU president; Dr. Debbie Byrd, dean of the pharmacy school; Dr. David Linville, executive vice provost for academics and health; and Dr. Ralph Lugo, professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice.
 In addition, program directors shared remarks and presented the graduates with program certificates. They included Dr. Katelyn Alexander, community pharmacy residency program director; Dr. Brian Cross, ambulatory care residency program director; Dr. David Stewart, internal medicine residency program director; and Dr. Nick Hagemeier, fellowship program director.
 Postgraduates are:
• Dr. Tucker Ensley, of Asheville, N.C.; Postgraduate Year 1 (PGY1) community pharmacy resident
• Dr. Lindsey Foltanski, of Long Valley, N.J.; PGY2 ambulatory care resident
• Dr. Corey Guidry, Raceland, La.; PGY2 internal medicine resident
• Dr. Tyler Melton, Sylva, N.C.; research fellow
• Dr. Aaron Salwan, Munroe Falls, Ohio; research fellow
 President Noland encouraged the postgraduates to pursue mentorship opportunities when possible, whether in a classroom or professional setting.
 “Individuals have touched and mentored you, provided a spark to continue your career, a spark for learning and a spark for research,” he said. “Pass that along as you move into the next phase of your career.”
 Byrd addressed the positive impact the postgraduates can have in facing the COVID-19 pandemic, but also regarding racial injustice following the death of George Floyd.
 “No matter where you are serving, be it with patients or teaching students, you have the opportunity to interact with people of all races and backgrounds, and you can help heal wounds that are deeper than their medical needs,” said Byrd. “I know you will serve everyone, no matter who they are, with all the kindness, patience and care that you would want to receive.”
 Gatton College of Pharmacy’s postgraduate programs enhance a pharmacists’ training and preparation for advanced careers working with patients or teaching the next generation of pharmacists in academia. The PGY1 program focuses on community pharmacy and has extensive regional partnerships and practice sites; the PGY2 program focuses on ambulatory care and internal medicine; and the fellowship program focuses on practice-based research and prescription drug abuse research.
 Learn more about Gatton College of Pharmacy’s postgraduate programs at etsu.edu/rxpostgrads.